• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jon Payne

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 16, 2010
    Third Coast
    How often do you really train? What do you consider to be training? When I’m at the range trying to make the most of my session I work the things that I’m not good at. Nothing like a big slice of humble pie to bring you back to terra firma! No one can be good at everything, some things we just have to work on until we’re competent.

Every time I am able to get in a range session I see someone either blasting away with no purpose or standing in one place in a rigid stance shooting the smallest groups they possibly can. Shooting tiny groups is real cool if that’s the only thing you’re trying to accomplish. If you think shooting tiny groups will make you a gunfighter your lying to yourself and it could cost you as much as your life. Blasting away with no real purpose is wasteful and has little entertainment value for me. There is always time for a little plinking, but I reserve that for after my training session.

What makes a training session? Having a plan and taking the steps necessary to enact the plan is what makes a training session. For example; I’m going to spend 30 minutes today working on my draw stroke. Break your draw stroke down into the 5 count draw and work on every step. Remember, nice and slow until it becomes smooth. Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.

When is the last time you’ve heard that? Some tend to think - Slow is smooth and smooth is fast- is ridiculous. Those people aren’t thinking the statement through. What it means is work the technique until it’s smooth, the smoother it gets the speed will increase. Don’t try and go 90 to nothing without mastering the details of the movement