Utah CHL class`

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

  • Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TexasRig

    New Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 28, 2009
    28
    1
    A friend of mine got her CHL from the state of Utah. She took the class at a Range outside of Florence on 183. She says its as good as having her Texas CHL and that it is valid in 29 states including Texas.

    The thing is it only cost $85, it is only a four hour class and it requires no range time. I have been looking at getting my Texas CHL and I know it requires more class time, range time and it cost more. Has anyone done this? Will this license provide the same CHL rights as the Texas license?

    I am reviewing the information that I can find on the web to try and figure this out. I just wanted to throw it out here and see if anyone had any experience with it.

    Thanks
    Session
     

    JKTex

    Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 11, 2008
    2,011
    31
    DFW, North Texas
    Very common but you need to look into it further.

    I'd rather have a Texas CHL, being a Texas resident. And I'm not sure if Utah passed a new bill which made it such that only Utah residents could be instructors. The concern was lack of any control by the State when people in other States are doing their class.
     

    okie556

    Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 12, 2009
    1,378
    21
    Longview, TX
    A friend of mine got her CHL from the state of Utah. She took the class at a Range outside of Florence on 183. She says its as good as having her Texas CHL and that it is valid in 29 states including Texas.

    The thing is it only cost $85, it is only a four hour class and it requires no range time. I have been looking at getting my Texas CHL and I know it requires more class time, range time and it cost more. Has anyone done this? Will this license provide the same CHL rights as the Texas license?

    I am reviewing the information that I can find on the web to try and figure this out. I just wanted to throw it out here and see if anyone had any experience with it.

    Thanks
    Session

    :mad: Sorry but that's just wrong. If you live in Texas and want to carry concealed..........take the full class and by all means.........go shoot!

    Okie 556
     

    JKTex

    Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 11, 2008
    2,011
    31
    DFW, North Texas
    You can carry in Texas on a Utah CHL. The question I have for you is will you know Texas laws regarding use of force and where you can carry?

    Ya, but you save about $200!!!!!

    (Just being funny, because it's very true.)

    Most people do not get out of state CHL's just to carry in Texas, they get them to carry in states that do not reciprocate with Texas, but do with those other states. Or to expand the number states they can carry in. Frankly, I can't imagine learning all the laws and differences in all those other states.
     

    onecoolpilot

    New Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 29, 2008
    45
    1
    Check out this site for a small FAQ about it. It's where I took my Utah class.

    [url]http://crossfire-training.com/content/index.php/faq/43-utahfaqs/69-utah-cfp-faqs[/URL]

    I don't know about others, but Linda and Marty hold their Utah class in conjunction with the Texas renewal class, so you do get the Texas classroom part. During the class, they will point out the differences between Texas and Utah laws, but it IS a Texas renewal class.
     

    TexasRig

    New Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 28, 2009
    28
    1
    Thanks to everyone for your replies. That's a great link OCP that pretty much answers all my questions.
     

    Texas1911

    TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2017
    10,598
    46
    Austin, TX
    For what it's worth, we don't honor out of state CHLs when we do the 4473 forms. I don't know if other gun shops do the same or not.
     

    JKTex

    Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 11, 2008
    2,011
    31
    DFW, North Texas
    For what it's worth, we don't honor out of state CHLs when we do the 4473 forms. I don't know if other gun shops do the same or not.

    I would definitely expect that. I can't see how a resident of one state buying a gun in that state would expect another state's CHL to get them past the NICS check.
     

    htxred

    Active Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 6, 2008
    588
    21
    inner loop houston
    i had considered this in the past since utah carry permits were valid in nevada while texas licenses were not.

    but recently, Nevada stopped accepting the Utah license and the Florida license, so i'll just stick to texas.
     

    Support

    Sponsors

    TRACT
    silencers
    DK Firearms
    Every Day Man
    Shroud
    Weapon displays
    Ammo
    Defender Tactical
    Ammo
    Orion Cooker
    Firearms Legal
    Target Sports USA
    Canon Shroud
    Tyrant
    Orion Arms
    ARJ Defense ad

    Latest posts

    Staff online

    • Vaquero
      Moving stuff to the gas prices thread.....

    Forum statistics

    Threads
    109,004
    Messages
    2,686,660
    Members
    33,395
    Latest member
    TraderJim75
    Top Bottom