• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • claymore504

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Dec 2, 2008
    Katy, TX
    So, I had a vehicle given to me. I am filling out the form for Application for Texas Certificate of Title. There is a box that says $10.00 gift tax. Is that all I will pay in tax? Or will they still take 80% of the vehicles value and charge me tax on that?
    Capitol Armory ad

juwaba98

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 9, 2008
    North Zulch, TX
    If it was truly a gift, then yes the $10 gift tax should be all you owe. I could be wrong, but I think it has to do with the fact that it is a vehicle sales tax they charge and absent a sale there is nothing to tax. New cars through sweepstakes are different though. Again, just my understanding as I'm not a tax lawyer or anything resembling an expert on the subject.

claymore504

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Dec 2, 2008
    Katy, TX
    It truly was a gift. I just want to make sure I have all my paper work in line when I go to the Tax office. I do not want to stand in line to be told I am missing something. Is there some kind of "proof" they want to show it was a gift?

claymore504

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Dec 2, 2008
    Katy, TX
    I bought a vehicle a while back and yes, the tax is 6.25%. But, here is where the state gets you. If the amount you paid for the vehicle is equal to or greater than 80% of the value you pay tax on that amount. If you paid less than 80% of the value of the vehiclethen you pay tax on 80% of the value. They get your money no matter what!

40Arpent

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 16, 2008
    Houston