• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mikewood

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Houston
    Naw, don't do it. I mean the 5.56 needs speed to do it's work. 16" barrel speed. Shooting it out of a short barrel looks cool but it's like a 22 hornet. Not what i would call a super stopper. Now if it was a machibeguns and you could get the hits a 4-5 round burst would do a lot of damage but just semi, I will pass. I know i am going to get flack but it's my opinion. Also Inside most buildings a 16" maneuvers just as easilly as a pistol or a 11" upper. It looks cool but that's about it.

johnnymayhem

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 31, 2011
    odessa
    this is my first build

spikes complete lower i put together myself
    bravo company m4 16" upper
    magpul stuff
    primary arms m4 sight

100_1660.jpg

i dont want my new build to look like a clone so to speak

double_r76

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 14, 2010
    Cibolo
    I'm gonna have to disagree with Mikewood on this one... a 5.56 NATO load with a 69 grain bullet out of a 10.5" barrel is going to have way more energy than any .22Hornet load out of any length barrel. If you're comparing a 55gr .223Rem SAAMI loads out of a 10.5" SBR and a 55gr .22Hornet out of a 20+" rifle, then you'll be closing the gap. However, you're at 10" more length and I've never seen a reliable semi-auto .22Hornet with a 30 round magazine.

I'll also disagree that it is just as easy to maneuver in a building with a 16" AR-15 as it is a SBR or pistol. I've done my fair share of force-on-force training indoors, and I'll tell you that it's not easy to open an interior door and keep your muzzle up at fighting level with a carbine. SBR is easier, and clearing a building with a pistol is the bee's knees... well, except for the horrible ballistics.

YMMV!
    -Randy

SIG_Fiend

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Admin
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Feb 21, 2008
    Austin, TX