• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gringogigante

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 16, 2009
    Richardson
    I am a current LTC instructor, but have a niece that we're in the process of adopting (her parents died suddenly), and she and the rest of my family need all my attention. I am up for renewal and was going to go down to Georgetown for a day to requal my Instructors cert. But due to pending legislation and my current family needs, I am thinking about letting it lapse. I can always pick it back up again, I figured.

BUT, what does one have to do nowadays to become an instructor if I want to go it again in a couple of years. Obviously, I'd need to reapply, show my NRA Instructor's info, etc. But what does one have to do once the application is accepted?

Is it a 4 or 8 hour course down in Georgetown or what? I've been doing it for years and was curious about the current req's for new instructors.

Chris
    Military Camp

wakal

Just Some Guy
    BANNED!!!
    Rating - 88.9%
    8   1   0
    Mar 20, 2011
    Zephyr
    New instructor is still a 36 hour course plus live fire...

Far less, oh my SO far less, painful to just choke down the "half day" classroom renewal now.

V-Tach

Watching While the Sheep Graze
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Sep 30, 2012
    Texas
    What pending Legislation? I just went to Georgetown on Tuesday for the 4 hour required for renewal. Right now they said there are about 4K instructors....don't let it lapse if you can help it, imho....

gringogigante

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 16, 2009
    Richardson