ARJ Defense ad

What plants/trees to plant to attract dove and deer?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Aggie_12

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 27, 2013
    Sinton, TX
    Hello, I recently bought 10 acres out in the country after I graduated college. In south texas, slightly north of corpus. I'm slowly trying to get things setup and since trees take a while to grow, I'd like to get them planted soon.

The front of the property is fairly open to the road and the north side is pretty uncovered between the neighbors new house. I would like to plant something for some privacy when I build my barn/home. Right now I have an RV out there that is 35-40 yards away from the foundation of my barn so in between the 2, I will make my "yard". I would like to carpet grass this area and have horseshoe pits and washers setup.

Ok, back to the question. I thought about planting oleanders across the front and side of the property but I read they are toxic to humans and animals so that is not something I'm interested in planting out there. It is also toxic when it is burned and they grow fast so that won't work.
    What are some other tall shrubs, fast growing trees that would be a good idea to plant around some of the border on my property for some privacy and something that dove are attracted to or like? I have a few hogs that come on the property every once and a while but I will take care if them soon. They aren't messing anything up now..