Whetstone Knife Sharpening: A Dying Art?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Wudidiz

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 8, 2022
    Tomball
    I still sharpen my hunting and folding knives with whetstones. I enjoy the process and results. I’ve been doing it that way for over 50 years. I like a wet 800-1000 grit then finish usually with a 6000. When I was a kid we used a pedal grinder stone for the heavy stuff and whetstones were common for the knives. Are the new electric sharpeners better? Maybe I’m missing something.
    Lynx Defense

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 23, 2021
    Victoria, TX
    That's the only thing I use. Most of the every day sharpening is done on a coarse carborundum stone. My belt knife gets used a lot and it's not all cutting. Every once in a while I will get our the Arkansas stones and do one up right.

I do have a small, high speed grinder that I use for sharpening wood chisels and lathe tools. If I'm in a hurry and out in the shop I'll pass my knife over that stone for a quick razor edge.

Alan

studenygreg

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 7, 2015
    Depends on the knife. Ones I don't care much about I will use the Ken onion work sharp. I use whetstone for most of my pocket knives

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

etmo

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 25, 2020
    Cedar Creek, Tx