• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jvlc

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 20, 2013
    Houston, TX
    I am new to 1911's, I bought a desert Eagle, and I have been told that it fairs much better than the average 1911 ie:Taurus, Ruger etc. I was thinking about obtaining the S&W 1911 from their performance center; but the reviews I have seen are not good. If I wanted to add to my 1911 collection, what would you recommend in the less than $2000.00 price range?
    Hurley's Gold

jvlc

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 20, 2013
    Houston, TX
    I recently saw a rock island 1911 and it reminded me of my desert eagle in that it was built with tight specs; which I dig.

Shotgun Jeremy

Spelling Bee Champeon
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 8, 2012
    Central Texas
    One thing I've learned with them is to check for slop everywhere. I saw a video on YouTube a while back with a guy explaining what you're looking for.

I don't have any hard evidence, but its my personal experience working with anything mechanical, that slop increases wear and creates inconsistencies.

When I'm looking at 1911's from a buyers perspective, I like to look at a minimum of two-sometimes three different brands of similar models. That's when you can REALLY see the differences.

I'm carrying a Remington R1. For the most part, its a very smooth and tight gun. The stock trigger on it is junk though. I'll get around to upgrading that one of these days....lol The gun is in the $700 range but I stumbled on a used one for $500. I intended on just flipping it for profit, but its way too good of a gun. :D

Last edited:

navyguy

TGT Addict
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 22, 2008
    DFW Keller
    In your under $2000 price point you can get into some very nice Dan Wessons. Valor, VBOB are both very nice 1911's.

Hondo

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0