• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mdubecky

Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jun 18, 2021
    McKinney, Texas
    I'm relatively new to firearms (a couple years) and have mostly been focused on pistol shooting, but I bought a Bergara 6.5 CM earlier this year and intend to grow my rifle fundamentals. A link to my specific rifle on Scheels website is below for help answering the below questions. It doesn't have a rail of any sort for mounting a bipod, but has the posts with holes (not sure what they are called).

https://www.scheels.com/p/bergara-s...=search-guns#q=bergara 6.5 creedmoor&start=12

Anyway, my questions are:
    1) what characteristics do you look for in your bipods for longer-range shooting (500+ yards)?
    2) what is high value bipod brand/model?
    3) how do I mount it to my specific rifle given the hardware on it?

I'm grateful for any guidance from a some of you with experience/wisdom.

Blessings,
    Mark
    ARJ Defense ad

CavCop

CAVCOP on Rumble
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 2, 2016
    Central TX
    I like Harris with the one that tilts.

Atlas is pricy, but rather adjustable for long range, and 45 deg leg angles if you need that.

The type of mount you have, can make a difference for what you can mount. Lots of options, and lots of money can be spent.

In 1990 I started out using a Harris on an M24 in the Military and a clothespin one on our M16’s. Most of my rifles have a Harris.

I did a video covering the basics, and some on the Magpul too. But Harris is just what I spent 20 plus years using and got used to for the past 30 plus years. Harris does have a number of options/different ones.

jrbfishn

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 9, 2013
    south of killeen
    Without a doubt, Atlas and Harris make some nice solid bipods. The one I use on my 224 Valkyrie is this one.