• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GaryS

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 4, 2016
    Hiding among the Hippos
    As some know, I'm new to Texas. My wife and I have been coming here to visit for about 40 years. As a result I've learned about what I needed to carry when we visit. But, living here is a bit different, so I have questions.

1) Pawn shops. Where we lived pawn shops could not loan money on guns and thus they didn't sell them. I'm just looking for recommendations on decent shops in the general area shop. I like older S&W semi autos and since they don't make them any longer used is my option. I know that pawn shops sell new and used, but I'm not a fan of newer guns.

2) LTC. I plan to get a TX license to carry even though they aren't required. If nothing else having one makes reciprocity and gun buying simpler. I'd like to do an in person class as it might give me more opportunities to meet like minded people. Recommendations?

3) Places to shoot. Plenty of commercial ranges, but a shortage of non profit clubs at which to shoot. It was the opposite where we lived. In fact, there were two clubs within 10 minutes of our house. One was about 1/2 mile away. The one I joined was 10 minutes away, but I had access whenever I wanted to shoot. What are my options in this area?

Thanks. I look forward to reading the answers and suggestions.
    ARJ Defense ad

usmcpmi

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 15, 2009
    Central Texas
    Hey Gary!
    So, pawn shops in Texas sell firearms. No restrictions on that.
    I too still hold my LTC. Just feel more comfortable with it.
    Last, depending on your location, ranges will vary on suitability and availability.
    Or you can network with some of the shooters on this board. Some of us have property and shoot at home.

Sent from my SM-A125U1 using Tapatalk

GaryS

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 4, 2016
    Hiding among the Hippos