• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ROGER4314

Been Called "Flash" Since I Was A Kid!
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 11, 2009
    East Houston
    MARLIN 917V RIFLES IN .17 HMR ARE MINIATURE MATCH RIFLES!

Bonnie & I have been shooting the Marlins in competition at 200 yards for 6-7 years. Her best score at 200 yards is 499 out of 500. I forget the "X" count. I shot a 499-28X and the next month a 500/500 with 23X! For non match shooters, the "X" ring on a 200 yard "SR" target is the size of a tennis ball. I hit that tennis ball 28 out of 50 rounds! The perfect score means that not a single round ventured out of the "10" ring at 200 yards.

We have painted golf "T"s for the pit crew to use as spotters. We tend to follow the 3" spotters usually used to indicate hits and it drags us off target. The "T"s are less visible in the scopes. We have a whole collection of smashed golf "T"s we hit at 200 yards. Hitting the golf "T" markers means we put two rounds in the same hole at 200 yards.

For $227, it's the best bang for the buck in High Power Rifles. After a short break in, these rifles will shoot "High Master" scores at 200 yards right out of the box new.

These rifles are supremely accurate at 200 yards even with the little Tasco 3-9X- 40 mm scope we use.

Later, we got a bit creative and produced some custom rifles based on the Marlins. Here's one of the latest. This one uses a Marlin 917 VS stainless.

The little Tasco scopes did OK but the cross hairs were too thick and power too low to wring out the best scores in the rifles. The rifle could outshoot the scopes.

Have any of you guys had similar experiences with these mini match rifles?

Flash
    Hurley's Gold

ROGER4314

Been Called "Flash" Since I Was A Kid!
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 11, 2009
    East Houston