• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 22, 2009
    Lakeway, Tx
    I'm a new resident to Texas, and I must say that the process to get your vehicles registered and drivers license here is f'in retarded!

1. They only give you 30 days to complete everything! What a joke! So I get my 3 cars registered all at once. Great now next year all three will be due at the same time again. Oh and I love the $90 "New Resident Fee" per vehicle. Lets stick it to the FNG...

2. Why do you do registration in one place and license in another?
    The hour wait for registration was not too bad but when I went to the DOT.. OH MY GOD... bureaucracy at a SNAILS pace. walked in waited in line for 20 mins to get a number.. my number is 94. I look at the wall it says 34..

40 mins later it still said 34!!!!! :mad:
    Looks like I'd better pitch a tent.

3. Inspections, we don't need no stinkin inspections.. My 2005 Dodge Ram SRT-10 failed the OBDII part of the test. Tech says drive it around some more, 2 systems came up as "Not ready". 300 miles later it still comes up as "not ready" 100 miles after that it finally became ready. It's funny that they check all these "Safety related items" Yet I still see all kinds of cars on the road that look like they just drove out of the junk yard..

4. I cant wait to renew my registration, and get another inspection next year. Or renew my license in 6 years...