• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Salted

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 16, 2022
    Corpus Christi
    So, I've been running a .223 Wylde, 20" with 1/8 twist for years now. It's fun, and it'll run on cheap ammo when I'm out at the range with friends so I'm not burning through my pricier stuff. Easy as pie at 300-400 yards. I'd like to start getting into longer range stuff, and I'm torn.

Now, I'm new to precision long range shooting, so cost of ammo is bouncing around in my head since I'm going to be wasting a lot. Not as important as performance, though. So, with all that said, what do y'all prefer for an ar15 platform: The 6.5 Grendel or the .224 Valkyrie?

FireInTheWire

Caprock Crusader
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    So, I've been running a .223 Wylde, 20" with 1/8 twist for years now. It's fun, and it'll run on cheap ammo when I'm out at the range with friends so I'm not burning through my pricier stuff. Easy as pie at 300-400 yards. I'd like to start getting into longer range stuff, and I'm torn.

Now, I'm new to precision long range shooting, so cost of ammo is bouncing around in my head since I'm going to be wasting a lot. Not as important as performance, though. So, with all that said, what do y'all prefer for an ar15 platform: The 6.5 Grendel or the .224 Valkyrie?
    That 223 will do 800yrds all day. Why not just keep doing what ya doing?

Sam7sf

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 13, 2018
    Texas
    Having shot both I don’t know...the 224 v is a good shooter. 6.5 g is also something I’d prefer to have from cqb to intermediate. Both are good. If I was using it just for pest control I’d go with the 224 v.

jrbfishn

TGT Addict
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 9, 2013
    south of killeen
    They will both do a fine job with the right load.