• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TX-Badger

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 1, 2016
    Dallas, TX
    I'm flying up to Wisconsin and want to bring my carry firearm with me. I read through the TSA and airline guidelines for traveling with a firearm and ammunition. Anyone have any other helpful tips/advice or experiences flying out of DFW checking their firearm in their checked baggage? Thank you for input, this is my first time flying after having my LTC and bringing my concealed carry with me.
    Gun Zone Deals

TX69

TGT Addict
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 23, 2012
    DFW
    Buy and use a very good top TSA firearms case. I prefer SKB and have been using that line for nearly 20 years with zero problems. Mine is a double long rifle/shotgun carrier that I also pack full with ammo on the same trip. It has life saving WHEELS to ROLL your heavy stuff through the airports. Wheels are a must unless you are using a small pistol case which I would use an attachment to place it on your wheeled luggage. Wheels are a must.

If you have read through the TSA and then the airline rules (they can be different from one another) you will be A OK. Believe it or not the TSA makes it somewhat easy to get through this process if again, you follow the rules. I have had inexperienced junior TSA agents that will show their ignorance and fear of firearms. They just hire them and throw them on the line so it is your job to remain cool, helpful, and calm through the process all the while following the rules.