ARJ Defense ad

Any AR-15 gunsmith gurus in my general area?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • m5215

Pistoleer
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 3, 2018
    McKinney, TX
    I have a Bushmaster XM-15 E2S Target which I purchased new back around 1992. It's a fantastic rifle and at the time I was happy to have it's 20" heavy barrel on it but now I no longer want it in this configuration. I want to have a standard 20" barrel without all the extra weight of having the heavy barrel. I know that I could just purchase a new 20" upper and run with that but I do not like the removable rear sight/handle. My XM-15 upper is the classic A2 style without the picatinny rail so I want to keep that upper but just have a new barrel for it as it seems to be nearly impossible to find standard A2 uppers without the removable rear sight/handle.

Are there any competent AR-15 gunsmiths that can easily change out a barrel? I will cover the costs of the parts and I am willing to pay a fair price for the labor involved. I am a pistol guy so I can do just about anything with a Beretta 92/M9 and a few other pistols but I only know how to use and do basic maintenance on an AR-15 rifle.

If anyone knows a good source for a quality standard 20" AR-15 upper that is only in the original A2 configuration that would work as well. I have looked but have not found one yet.
    ARJ Defense ad

Rhino

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 22, 2009
    DFW Area