• ...and so much more!
  • vmax

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 15, 2013
    I can't think of anyone else to ask this so I hope some of you can chime in

Why is it when I fill my livestock troughs with well water they stay clear and free of algae for several days but when I fill them with water from our municpal water system , green crap starts growing fast and is noticable in just a few days?
    Hurley's Gold

RstyShcklfrd

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2011
    Dallas
    I have a degree in chemistry, but I don't know shit about algae. I'll make a guess and say that your well water is lacking in nutrients or has higher mineral content, and maybe the algae doesn't flourish as well in that environment.

TexasRedneck

1911 Nut
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Jan 23, 2009
    New Braunfels, TX
    Hard to say for sure - it may well be that you're towards the end of the line on your municipal supply line, and it's more "stale". You MIGHT try running it for say 20 minutes before putting it in the trough and see if that helps. Public Water Supplies have chlorine in 'em by law, but it can be consumed by biologicals present in the water, which renders it inert.

vmax

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 15, 2013
    Hard to say for sure - it may well be that you're towards the end of the line on your municipal supply line, and it's more "stale". You MIGHT try running it for say 20 minutes before putting it in the trough and see if that helps. Public Water Supplies have chlorine in 'em by law, but it can be consumed by biologicals present in the water, which renders it inert.

at the rate that they charge me, I can't afford to run it that long. But it is a rural place and we don't use much water at all, probly under 500 gallons a month
    I'm going back to the well water for livestock and what little irrigation I have.

Texasjack

TGT Addict