• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • UtopiaTx

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 28, 2008
    I have been shooting now for 51 years, reloading my own for multiple pistol and rifle calibers for 40 years and have lately been interested in night vision. I am really amazed with the attitudes of many that have a extra 6k-8k for top tier 3rd. generation NV. Most of us know that 1st. generation isn't the greatest, Gen. 2 a great deal more useful and of course Gen. 3 spectacular in most instances. What bothers me is the turse comments and lack of helping others out that may not have so much money to spend. I've done enough reading on my own to pretty much know what I need to know when I finally buy but it wasn't due to much help on the Internet forums that have NV sections. There have always been caliber snobs who put down rounds they do not like but it seems to me the NV crowd is a step above the rest. Is it just me? Ok, Off my rant. I have a little over 4k saved up so far for a decent NV scope and hope to have additional funds in the next few months. Until then I'll hide out on the NV forums and quietly just lurk. :)

Trueno

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2008
    Golden Triangle
    223793_ts.jpg

I've always daydreamed about owning some type of NV but the $...meh. Fast-forward to a few weeks ago when I bought a used cheapo setup from a pawnshop.

Aries 390 Paladin, a Gen1 marketed by ATN, came with an externally mounted illuminator. Used, total was $360 out the door. Non-zoom, 4x fixed magnification. Very clear field of view, it'll do fine here in the hood for a poboy like me, think it's gonna get mounted on my AMD-65 (Hungarian 7.62 AK). It's heavy and somewhat bulky but I'm hoping to get used to it.

t

IXLR8

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    May 19, 2009
    Republic of Texas