• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Doc Deuce

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 21, 2008
    Austin, TX
    Hello all. I'm an Austin resident with absolutely no experience with firearms. My wife and I are both looking to learn and purchase but we really don't know where to start. We're also very short on money so we're trying to decide whether we should spend money at a range or save money to buy something. Any suggestions or is anybody willing to help us get into the hobby? Much appreciated.
    Texas SOT

BeNotAfraid

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 15, 2008
    Red River, Texas
    Hand gun tips....

HOWDY and welcome, Doc! you come to the right place, brother.

First off, figure out your immediate goals: home/self defense, plinking, target shooting, hunting, etc.

Then, "bone up" on a few good books at the local Library (very cost effective!)

A very good start is a .22 cal rimfire revolver or auto-loader pistol. Learn gun safety and handling. Aim, grip, sight picture, trigger squeeze, etc.

Shooting a .22 costs you pennies. You can then "up-gun" to a .38 cal revolver (4 inch barrel, thank you very much). Then, it's off to a 9mm and then a .40 cal or .45ACP pistol. You'll be all set.

Start with good quality "re-loaded" or "remanufactured" ammo from a very reliable, local ammo source, sometimes 50% the cost of factory ammo. More to practice with. Then, you can graduate to "factory" loads.

Prices? I always buy good "gently used" hand guns; let someone else take the "depreciation" on a new-priced gun. I have yet to see one "shot out." Pick a good one up from family/friends, or a local funshow. Know what you are looking for. work the action, check for sloppiness, cylinder alignment, timing, firing pin, etc.

ENJOY!

After hand guns, you'll be into "long guns" soon enough!

juwaba98

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 9, 2008
    North Zulch, TX