Build an AK 47??

Sarge

Dec 11, 2008
Has anyone built an AK from the parts kits?
I am a good mechanic and have lots of good tools, but not a gunsmith.
How hard is this to do?
Thanks, Sarge

accordingtoome

Oct 13, 2008
I have a unfired romanian G kit already demilled and ready for a reciever. All the hard stuff is done. I also have all the US parts to make it nice and legal. Selling for 400.00.

I bought it from somone on the board and im a freaking retard when it comes to tools.

nalioth

Oct 13, 2008
Houston Metro
If you are a mechanic, you're easily able to build a Kalashnikov from a kit.

Find a build party near you and go watch. You'll figure it out.

Sad part is: It's no longer financially exciting to build an AK from a kit.

seattleducati

Sep 24, 2008
Austin
And not to bash anyone, but I wouldn't pay $400 for a kit! Nalioth has it right, I have my builds done and have two left to build and I never paid more than $100 for a Romy kit.

The other problems you'll run into, besides gouging, are...if you plan on building your own receivers you'll need a jig and they're spendy, or get a nodak spud receiver (which are slightly spendy) and then pay the FFL transfer fee. Rivet jigs are also spendy and therefore the only way to justify buying them is to build en mass. So I don't doubt your mechanical skills but you've pretty much missed the boat.

Leper

Sep 28, 2008
If you buy a flat $20-$30, the bending jig +/-$300 and a couple other special tools $150 then you are able to make your own. Parts kits are around $300 or more now. It is not too hard to build one, but it is not like an AR by any means.

Ride4TheBrand

Mar 3, 2009
The Lone Star State
And not to bash anyone, but I wouldn't pay $400 for a kit! Nalioth has it right, I have my builds done and have two left to build and I never paid more than $100 for a Romy kit.