• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Status
    Not open for further replies.

TexasProf

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 15, 2015
    I'm a professor considering syllabus language regarding firearms in my classroom following SB 11.
    My draft syllabus language (starting Aug 1, 2016) is intended to be simple and clear:

"Firearms policy: In my classroom, the rule is "Don't ask, don't tell, don't show". That is, I won't ask you about your chl status or whether you are carrying, you won't tell me either, and you won't show your weapon. We will pretend as if there are no firearms in this classroom ever, and we'll all get along just fine. Anything else is a situation."

Does this forum consider wording like this acceptable, or at least consistent with the current law?

What happens if a student breaks it? I mean for example by revealing, negligently or intentionally.

I'm not trolling, I really want to know. I've thought long and hard before posting here and I'm not looking for a flame war.

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    hill co.
    I'll bite.

Leave off everything except "please keep your CHL status to yourself" or however you choose to word it.

Nothing else is really enforceable. It's already illegal to intentionally display a firearm for show and tell, campus carry won't change that. Saying it as if it is your policy will give the impression that you don't understand the law. No reason to state what CHL holders already know.

The rest about pretending firearms don't exist, it's just silly. Saying "anything else is a situation" could be interpreted as a veiled threat. Could make students feel as if that knowledge could unfairly effect their grades which would cause issues for the school.