• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • matefrio

ΔΕΞΑΙ
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2010
    Missouri, Texas Consulate HQ
    I have a couple of old cast iron pans from my grandma. This is now on the wish list.

Skillet_Top_PlusLid2__13669.1409334303.1280.1280.j  pg

Hurley's Gold

benenglish

Just Another Boomer
    Staff member
    Lifetime Member
    Admin
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Nov 22, 2011
    Spring
    Griswold. Wagner. Finex.

What makes them any more desirable that the decades-old Lodge pans in my kitchen?

Just FYI - I have three very old Lodge pans, one I bought and two I inherited from my grandmother. I've been using cast iron pans almost exclusively for the last 25 years.

London

The advocate's Devil.
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Sep 28, 2010
    Twilight Zone
    I'm a huge cast iron fan. Got into it a little less than a year ago and already own several Lodge skillets. Still haven't washed any aside from wiping them down with a paper towel after (nearly) every use. They are definitely rougher than pricier stuff but that has never been an issue for me. Use enough grease/margarine/whatever and you'll be fine. If you want them smooth you can do it yourself with a grinder if you have the patience.

I'm actually a big fan of Lodge. Their stuff is affordable and can easily be given to great grandchildren. Made in USA. You can even find them in any Walmart or Academy.

It's nice to see an up and coming cast Iron company, but goddamn- $195 for a 12" skillet? Yeah, that's probably about the equivalent of what someone would have paid for one 200 years ago, but times have changed. I could get antique Griswold, Wagner, etc for a lot less than that on eBay or Craigslist. Too rich for my cheapskate blood. I hope they make a fortune off of yuppie assholes who have to have the latest, trendiest, "New and improved," never used health fad crap. Leaves more the old "Junkers" for guys like me.