• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Cool 'Horn Luke

Come on. Love me, hate me, kill me, anything.
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 22, 2022
    Corsicana, TX
    My limited experience has all been further west (stalk hunts), this is my first year sitting on corn. Last weekend (with just regular corn (unflavored) on the ground, got 2 different groups within range (bow, not sure if the corn was the reason). Today, I decided to try apple flavored corn. Heard a group (about the same location (still in the woods) and time as last weekend), they were definitely moving along the same trail but they never moved into the cleared area. As I continued to sit there, I watched a squirrel move up to the corn, took one bite, and ran off. When I bought the bag (flavored, Atwoods), I was struck at how strong the odor was. Could the odor/taste be too much and scared the deer off? Should I just stick with unflavored/different brand? Advice? Thanks!
    Capitol Armory ad

baboon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 6, 2008
    Out here by the lake!
    Are you talking for deer or hogs or both? A proper deer feeder going off is like a dinner bell to deer. You are going to want clean corn in a feeder. Hogs love corn also. Many people swear on sour corn for hogs. There are as many recipes for sour corn as there are for corn you might eat.

Just about everything out in the woods will will eat corn. Using a feeder with a timer will train deer when to come to corn. Ever year I hear nothing but bitching about the price of corn.