• ...and so much more!
  • orbitup

Sticker Cop
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Nov 6, 2010
    Waxyscratchy
    Does anybody use one? What kind?

I've recently started exercising and I need to monitor my heart rate. The Fitbit Charge looks pretty good but seeing as I have zero experience with these I thought I should ask around.
    Target Sports

navyguy

TGT Addict
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 22, 2008
    DFW Keller
    I picked up a Fitbit Charge about a month ago. It does a lot of things well, but the two things that are important to me are lacking. Heart Rate and Daily Steps. Heart Rate measurement is very inconsistent. Sometimes it's right on, other times it does not register at all, even though I've followed the instructions and moved it up my arm and tried different degrees of tightness. Cumulative daily steps is also a problem. I check this walking on the treadmill. I counted my steps walking at a constant rate (4mph) for one minute, then multiplied by 60 to give me steps taken in an hour. The Fitbit recorded about 35% less steps. The sleep tracker works very well and gives you a good look at your sleeping pattern and exactly how much real sleep you are getting.

Maybe I've got a defective unit, or maybe it's just not suited to ME. I'm going to call Fitbit CS next week and have a chat.

Brains

One of the idiots
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 9, 2013
    Spring
    My wife is a runner, I got her the Garmin Forerunner 225 for her birthday. She loves it, and she says the heart rate monitor works really well for her.

orbitup

Sticker Cop
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Nov 6, 2010
    Waxyscratchy