ARJ Defense ad

Frangible Ammo for Self Defense, yeah or neah?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mikey

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2011
    San Antonio
    I'm not a fan, personally, because I shoot 9mm and don't want to give up stopping power. I'd prefer to just remember one of the first rules I learned: Know your target and beyond.

I am far from an expert on these things, though, so my opinion is probably worth about what you paid for it.

Mic

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2009
    Austin
    Cannot remember where I was reading this...maybe it was the FBI report posted on another post here. But it hinted that with the number of misses that people (in this particular case, it was referring to police) make in high-stress situation of shooting in a gunfight, it was really kind of pointless to worry about overpenetration.

Texan2

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 8, 2008
    South of San Antonio
    I’ve read that frangible ammo is being used more and more by law Enforcement and the Military for close combat situations in rural areas where the risk of collateral damage is high.
    What are your thoughts on using frangible ammo for personal self defense and why?
    Why would they use it in a rural area?

Texas1911

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 29, 2017
    Austin, TX