• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MystoganEnigma

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2016
    Hello, everyone. Just a college student who lives in Austin and has recently taken an interest in guns. But since I'm completely new to guns and gun laws in Texas....

A quick question, where can I ask questions about owning non-firing gun replicas? Is it legal in Texas? Or requiring orange tips? Age requirement?

I'm looking to buy a non-firing gun replica. Something like this:
    http://www.historicreplicaguns.com/1911replicagun.html

Not going to carry it anywhere else but inside my house. Put it on display or something.
    ARJ Defense ad

Last edited:

MystoganEnigma

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2016

I know I must sound weird or stupid asking about non-firing gun replicas in a forum where people own/carry actual guns.
    It's because I'm an international student. I'd rather avoid any trouble with owning a real gun that can even fire blanks.
    On the other hand, I want to get a feel of holding one.

Last edited:

robertc1024

Staff member
    TGT Supporter
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 22, 2013
    San Marcos
    Well, come on down to Dietz in New Braunfels on Sunday (See the thread in the San Antonio area sub-forum.) You'll have a blast and get the opportunity to hold plenty of them.

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    Well, come on down to Dietz in New Braunfels on Sunday (See the thread in the San Antonio area sub-forum.) You'll have a blast and get the opportunity to hold plenty of them.
    Th is, or if you can't make it to that we have members meet up all the time all around the state.

There is also a lunch meeting every Friday in Austin. Sometimes members go shoot after that.

Welcome.