HK AR15 / 416 Magazines

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by Texas1911, Oct 11, 2008.

1. Texas1911

Texas1911 TGT Addict

May 29, 2017
    Austin, TX
    If you don't have one already, these things are SWEET. The followers on them are better than anything on the market. Probably not as long term durable as a P-Mag, but hey, it's metal and spray paint is cheap.

2. SIG_Fiend

SIG_Fiend Administrator TGT Supporter Admin

Feb 21, 2008
    Austin, TX
    Actually, judging by what I've seen on some of the other AR sites, the 416 mags are bad news for AR15's. I've heard of MANY people having problems with them feeding reliably, and on top of that apparently the springs wear out really quickly, and there aren't currently any replacements available for them. A quick search of Arfcom, M4carbine.net, and Lightfighter will turn up a lot of bad reviews on them. Just fyi. It's second hand info from the internet, seeing as I have no personal experience using the HK mags, so take my words with a grain of salt. ;)

3. Infamous

Infamous Member

Jul 28, 2008
    North Dallas
    theyre good mags. i cant afford em in a quantitative amount so i buy pmags :)

4. SIG_Fiend

SIG_Fiend Administrator TGT Supporter Admin

Feb 21, 2008
    Austin, TX
    I'm really liking what I'm seeing about the PMAGs. They're inexpensive, and so far many people doing extensive testing with them seem to have nothing but positive results. As far as the HK mags go, one of the issues I've heard about is something to do with the differences between the AR15 feeding system and 416 feeding system I believe. I'm not entirely sure of what the differences constitute, just that there are some and so the 416 mags aren't really made to function properly in an AR15. If I'm way off base here, anyone feel free to correct me. This is all what I've heard from various individuals in the know, though you know how the internet can be. ;)

5. phatcyclist

phatcyclist Active Member

Feb 22, 2008
    Austin, TX