• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sobi1998

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2016
    I have been managing and hunting a property for nearly 6 years now. When I first started, the hogs would come out in the daytime. But since I would...shoot them. They have since been nocturnal. It’s literally once in a blue moon they’ll be at the feeder in the day, usually after a hard cold front.
    I don’t hunt them very often, there’s not a huge population out here ( atascosa county) It’s just brush and pasture, none of the neighbors grow any crops
    It baffles me how for 6 years they can keep it up. I realize they’re smart creatures. I have a trap that sits open because they got wise to it
    Even in the height of winter, only feeds at night
    I actually shot one last night, first since July
    Any tips or tricks?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Military Camp

vmax

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 15, 2013
    I've had a few sounders come in as late as 9am
    Most of the time its dark thirty

Bozz10mm

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 5, 2013
    Georgetown
    Where do these bassids hide during the day. We have signs of feral hogs on the property, about 125 acres. BIL and I have searched all over the property during the day, but never see one.

Lunyfringe

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 22, 2017
    Canton, TX
    Where do these bassids hide during the day. We have signs of feral hogs on the property, about 125 acres. BIL and I have searched all over the property during the day, but never see one.
    I think that's going to vary from sounder to sounder, and the topology of the immediate area. In the summer, they're going to want deep shade/water/mud during the day- but they're smart and the only way to be sure would be to tag one with a tracking device.

Kingarthur777

Rating - 0%