• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Cogent Design

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 10, 2014
    I've been experimenting with my food dehydrator for a few months now; looking for a way to store the dehydrated food long term. I've heard of people using ziplock bags and leaving them at room temperature out of direct sunlight.

Any truth to this? What do you guys do?
    Texas SOT

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2012
    HK
    Vacuum bags will extend the life. Store the bags under preheated rock salt, then sealed in a 5gal bucket.

The heating of the rock salt gives a slight 'canning' effect. Pure rock salt for water softeners. As it comes in bulk.

"Sent from a puff of smoke"

rsayloriii

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 11, 2009
    H-Town, TX
    In a sealed container with a moisture desiccant, in a cool, dark place would be most ideal. I bought a vacuum Mason jar attachment for the vacuum sealer works well, as does the vacuum sealer itself (so long as the item isn't crushable).

The keys are moisture, oxygen (air), and sunlight. Control them and temperature isn't as much of a concern. The tighter control you have, the longer your food will last.

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2012
    HK
    And dont be touching the food with bare hands.

Clean everything. Bleach, hydrogen peroxide. Boil it.

The cleaner, germ free you get it, the longer the stored food will last.

"Sent from a puff of smoke"

Last edited:

Ole Cowboy

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 23, 2013
    17 Oaks Ranch
    Avoid to powerful oxidants: Moisture and air. Best place to store at home is a freezer. You can buy a good sized one for a few hundred bucks

vmax

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Apr 15, 2013
    you didn't say how long you wanted to store the food. Weeks, months or years??