• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • spanky

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 30, 2010
    San Antonio
    I am looking for a bit of guidance regarding a reloading book and what powder to buy. I am just getting my lee classic turret press setup. I have no reloading knowledge. I know that I should get a book and read read read but which one? ABC's of reloading? Hornady book? Does it matter?

I am going to be reloading 45acp, what is a decent all around powder? I have seen powder sold in different incremements from 1 pound up to 8 pounds. Ballpark figure, how many rounds can you reload with a pound of powder? I know that depends on how much you load each round to, but can anyone give me a rough estimate. I'm just trying to see if my first powder purchase should be small or if I just go for the big one.

any advice would be great. Thanks for taking the time to read....

Spanky
    Venture Surplus ad

robin303

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 10, 2010
    Austin
    Well this is a fun hobby and I suggest you get more than 1 book.
    1. Loadbooks USA "45 ACP" Reloading Manual - MidwayUSA
    2. Lyman "Pistol and Revolver: Reloading Handbook: Third Edition" Reloading Manual - MidwayUSA
    As for powder I would look up your round and find a powder that is in all your books and the web. What ever you do is find a powder that fills up the case in which you know for sure you have or don't have a double charge. I use 5 different powders and I suggest maybe 3 powders to start with and they are Power Pistol, Bullseye, snd 700X.
    Alliant Powder - Reloader's Guide
    http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp

Oh yes I have the Lee press and if you got their scale toss it and get this: Dillon's 'Eliminator' Scale: Powder Scales

Texasjack

TGT Addict
    Rating - 50%
    1   1   0
    Jan 3, 2010
    Occupied Texas