• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Red78

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 27, 2010
    San Antonio
    I'm new to Texas Gun Talk, this is my first post. I received my CHL in June, and now I'm looking for a good concealed carry weapon. I'm only interested in the 1911. Would appreciate ya'll's input. Especially 4" barrel vs 5", and various brand recommendations. My target price range is in the neighborhood of $1,000. I'm not looking for anything custom - just a good solid gun with good sights that can be used for concealed carry.

Thanks,

Red
    Gun Zone Deals

navyguy

TGT Addict
    Emeritus - "Texas Proud"
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 22, 2008
    DFW Keller
    Your price point will drive you to Springfields, Kimbers, Colt, SW, RIA and a few others. Of that group I like the Springfields and Kimbers. You can also get a Taurus, but those are not my favorite. You can probably find a nice used Dan Wesson CBOB (2009 or older model) for less than $1000. Those are really nice 1911's.

As far as a 4.25 (commander sized) vs a full sized 5". Concealment with the smaller gun will be easier... shootablilty will go to the full sized, although not by a great margin unless you're into long range shooting or bullseye completions.

Welcome

SIG_Fiend

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Admin
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Feb 21, 2008
    Austin, TX
    Hi Red, welcome!