• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Quicksilver

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 16, 2009
    Plano
    Ok guys I'm new to this rifle stuff. I mainly play with shotguns and pistols.
    Plus when i lived in Ohio we couldn't use rifles to hunt deer.

Went to the range on Sunday and had a BLAST.
    All my rifles were given to me from my dad, and havnt been shot in probably 30 plus years. Hell i know one in my safe still has the tags on it so its never been shot.

Here is what I have

Reminton 700 BDL in .223 with a Leupold 3x9

Browning BAR in 7mm Mag with a Burris 3x9.

Winchester 70xpr Featherlight in .270 (still has hang tags on it and need glass)

The Rem 700 was the rifle my dad shot most. Mainly varmint hunting and fun shooting. I took it to the range and after 30 years in the safe it still shot about a 2" group at 100 yards (with me thats never shot a rifle)

The BAR in 7mm he got for larger game. This needs better glass on it and me to take some time with it. Recoil was still a little stiff even with the semi-auto soaking up some.
    How large of game can I take with the 7mm Mag?

The Winchester 70 I need to get glass for. So for now it just sits in the safe to keep the others company.

What would you guys add to these rifles? I had a 22lr but gave it to my brother when i moved, I want to get another.
    What would be the next step up above the 7mm? someting like a .308/7.62x51??
    I dont forsee ever going to Africa or anything like that, but would like something plenty strong enough for big elk or possibly bear.

Thanks for any info and sorry for the long post.
    Josh
    Lynx Defense

thorkyl

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 13, 2008
    Brazoria County
    Well people use the 223 for the dog sized deer we have here but I would go with a 308
    the 308 and 762 nato are slightly different in the case.