Hurley's Gold

newbie here wanting to get into reloading.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 93notch

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 2, 2010
    Arlington
    Sorry if this has been asked alot, but i am wanting to get into reloading to try and save money, and be able to build the rounds to what i want. I am just looking for some suggestions on what is a goot entry style system, for doing pistols rounds. Thanks
    Aaron
    DK Firearms

Bullseye Shooter

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 28, 2008
    Texas Panhandle
    You might want to do a search here and on The Firing Line and the The High Road forums. This has been asked a lot. However, briefly, no matter what you hear, start with a single stage press until you learn the basics. You'll only frustrate yourself starting with a progressive machine like a Dillon if you don't understand all the steps that go in to reloading a round. Buy the ABC's of Reloading. It's not perfect but it's a good start. And if you buy any one reloading manual, start with Lyman's since it has more generic loads and uses different bullets for each cartridge. The Lee Manual is just a compilation of everyone eles's data so I never use it, even though I have a copy.

Any of the kits, like the RCBS will give you most of the tools you need to start reloading. I dislike Lee since I think they go a little too "cheap" but some guys swear by them. Check eBay; you never know, you might find a deal on some used equipment or check your local gun show. There's usually someone cleaning out their garage of used equipment.