Questions on selling a handgun

Old Arn

New Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
May 21, 2008
13
1
San Antonio, TX
I'm about to put my Seecamp up for sale, but I have a few questions before I do. Where can I find the laws on FTF sales? I've tried Google, but all I can find concerns TX residents buying in contiguous states, and not selling to anyone who is intoxicated/drunk/underage etc. Is that it?

Also, if I did a FTF sale, let's say at the next Saxet Show, could I simply go up to one of the vendors to do a NICS check? I know that TX (or VA, where I'm from) doesn't require this or any paperwork for a private FTF sale, but I'd rather pony up a few dollars to be sure about who I'm selling to. Unless they show me a valid TX CHL, that is. What do you guys use as a bill of sale?

Thanks in advance.

Arnold
 

Shorts

TGT Addict
TGT Supporter
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Mar 28, 2008
4,594
38
Texas
Arnold, when stationed in WA (same FTF laws) we wrote up a general bill of sale, a copy for us and a copy to the other party. We also took a look at each other's carry permit and DL.

If you do want to go ahead and get an FFL to do a 4473, I'm sure you could do that. Under TX state law, it isn't necessary. You're only in trouble if you "knowingly and intentionally" sell/rent/leases/gives...

PENAL CODE TITLE 10. OFFENSES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH, SAFETY, AND MORALS CHAPTER 46. WEAPONS
 

kingofwylietx

Well-Known
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Feb 29, 2008
1,424
36
DFW area.....Wylie.
In Texas, you can do a FTF without any paperwork. You pretty much listed the folks you are not supposed to sell to, just add probably felons. You're totally ready to go if they have a CHL.

As for a check on them........that's not normal for a FTF.

If you want to cover your rear, you can do a bill of sale. What was sold to who, serial number and date. Have them sign it and keep the receipt for your records. In Texas, if a trooper comes knocking, you just have to say you sold it. However, a lot of people write something up so they have something concret.
 

nalioth

Active Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oct 13, 2008
866
36
Houston Metro
If you must, all you have to do is find a FFL holder and hand him the pistol and ask that a background check and 4473 be done on it. The FFL holder will ask you for your information, and then you're done with it. Get your money at this point from the buyer.

The buyer can pay the FFL holders fee.


I've not ever done this on any FTF sale.
 

Mark F

Member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Aug 21, 2008
99
16
FFL isn't necessary. Just write up a BOS for you & the buyer. And even a BOS is optional.
 

JKTex

Well-Known
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Mar 11, 2008
2,011
38
DFW, North Texas
It's great that you want to go to the extra effort to make sure you're selling to someone that is not prohibited to buy or posses, but make it easy on yourself. ;) Either sell to someone you know well enough to be comfortable with, or just have an FFL do the transfer. $20-$25 and an FFL can complete the transfer and it's out of your hands.

Otherwise, as said, in Texas you just need to not knowingly sell to someone that is prohibited from buying. There isn't any burden on you to do any fancy footwork to prove anything.

Hint, if they have on matching striped outfit and remnants of shackles on their ankles or cuffs on their wrists, you might want to look for another buyer. Otherwise, you're good.
 

40Arpent

TGT Addict
TGT Supporter
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Jul 16, 2008
7,063
48
Houston
How much do you want for the Seecamp? I have a friend looking for one.

Feel free to e-mail me at peterichard at peoplepc dot com.

Thanks,

Pete
 

Support

Sponsors

Greeneye Tactical
silencers
third coast
DK Firearms
Tyrant Designs
Ranier
Every Day Man
Shroud
Shroud

Forum statistics

Threads
101,525
Messages
2,339,734
Members
31,891
Latest member
ox the destroyer
Top Bottom