• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ElevenBravo

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 10, 2013
    Anyone have experience reloading 45-70? I have a few years experience reloading most other rifle cartridges, but never done a straight wall caliber like 45-70. Do the bullets need to be lubed prior to seating? How far down the brass does the expanding die need to go?

DubiousDan

Trump 2024
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 22, 2010
    San Antonio
    Jacketed bullets should not need lube. The expander die should go down just enough to open the mouth of the case to accept the base of the bullet. Usually that is just enough that you can feel a slight bell to the mouth of the case but might not see much. If it's a little too much the crimping process will remove it.

If you use a bullet like the one pictured you can get by with less bell but if the base has a flatter base or if you use cast bullets you'll need more bell.
    images

Remember the purpose of the expander is to prevent the mouth of the case from being crushed while introducing the bullet. You want as little as possible to work the brass less and prolong the case life.

ROGER4314

Been Called "Flash" Since I Was A Kid!
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 11, 2009
    East Houston
    I've always wanted to get a modern 45-70 rifle and load smokeless powder rounds for it. It never happened. Great thread! I hope to learn a lot here.

Flash

ElevenBravo

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 10, 2013
    Jacketed bullets should not need lube. The expander die should go down just enough to open the mouth of the case to accept the base of the bullet. Usually that is just enough that you can feel a slight bell to the mouth of the case but might not see much. If it's a little too much the crimping process will remove it.