• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ROGER4314

Been Called "Flash" Since I Was A Kid!
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 11, 2009
    East Houston
    My friend Bonnie and I saw "Jersey Boys" at he Senior matinee ($5) today. The movie traces the development of Frankie Valli and the "Four Seasons" singing group in the 1960's.

Jersey Boys is a charming tale of friends who grew up on the streets in New Jersey and fought their way to the top of the music industry. They hit the top, suffered the pain of success which ultimately split them apart.

Growing up on the streets, they knew intimately, people of immense power from organizations that have no name. They weren't always law abiding and this movie contains one of the funniest burglaries that I've ever seen! If you can see this without busting a gut laughing, I'd be amazed! This movie is a trip!

What I was NOT prepared for was the "Time Machine" that this movie became for me. I graduated from high school in the city of Chicago in 1964 and grew up with the Four Seasons with Frankie Valli. I knew every note and every word of every song that they sang. Although the performances were not original, they were very close to authentic and extremely well done.

I grew up in Chicago EXACTLY like these kids! Their behavior was well known to me especially about the UMMMM .........politically incorrect activities the guys were into. It was almost like the movie took me back to 1960's Chicago!

The powerful people shown in the movie..........we all grew up together! Favors were like money. A favor accepted is a favor owed. Payback is "Vendetta". Payback will come today, tomorrow, next year .......but it will come! That's the way the street works. This movie took me right back home! Gotta admit, I cried in several places because I knew EXACTLY what those guys were feeling. It pulled stuff out of me that I hadn't felt in years.

What I liked: