Join TexasGunTalk

Utah to Austin

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Utah, Oct 5, 2013.

1. Utah

Utah Member

Oct 4, 2013
    Hello everyone!

I've recently taken a new job in Austin (computer field) and am living in an apartment in the Arboretum area (north Austin). The people in Texas are great, though some in this particular neck of the woods can be a bit wacky (I'm a conservative sort of guy). I am an NRA Instructor for Basic Pistol, Basic Rifle, Basic Shotgun, and am a Range Officer and an instructor for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP). I doubt I'll be doing any Utah CFP classes down here, since the CHL and the CFP are recognized in pretty much all the same states. Haven't decided if I'll become a CHL instructor -- still mulling it over.

I'm mostly a GLOCK guy (have been a GLOCK armorer for six or seven years), though I have a variety of other sidearms, along with several rifles -- black and otherwise. I'm pleased to see so many of y'all being fans of the official State Gun of Utah -- the 1911. I'm most likely to be found with either a GLOCK 23 or a Ruger LC9 these days.

Back in 2000-2001, I lived in Houston for a little over a year. I found then that I make a good Texan, so it's good to be back here. Even though my handle is "Utah", my wife and I have also lived in Florida, Massachusetts, Colorado, Washington state, and California. I was working in San Francisco when we were in California -- never again, never again, never again.

My avatar is actually from my ancestry. He looks to me to be a reliable character from the Old West.

Seems I'm in need of a small gun safe. Something that could hold a few rifles and a smattering of other bits and pieces. Something I could manhandle into place by myself (so, couple of hundred pounds or less). Any suggestions?

2. txbikerman

txbikerman TGT Addict

Jul 10, 2013
    mckinney
    welcome

3. cbigclarke

cbigclarke TGT Addict

Feb 24, 2009
    cypress
    hiddy ho

4. itchin