• ...and so much more!
  • KZCafe

TGT Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 12, 2023
    Lampasas, TX
    Hello,

I'm new to TX and gun ownership. I would also like to get my feet wet hunting. Reading over a lot of the regulatory information, but I'm also curious about hearing personal experience with different calibers.

I'm looking for something versatile: coyote up to elk (might be in Idaho in a few years). My initial thought is I'll need two rifles a .223/5.56 and maybe a 7.62. Also considering bolt action for the larger caliber. What do you think or recommend?

baboon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    May 6, 2008
    Out here by the lake!
    .243 & .270 are might common in Texas for hunting. Hearing protection is more or less a personal choice. You want to protect your hearing yes you want to hear whats going on around you. That would make noise application / cancelation phone a great idea, but that can be very annoying to wear. I seldom ever wear hearing protection & my hearing is fairly decent.

TipBledsoe

TGT Addict
    TGT Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Jun 28, 2020
    LaVernia TX
    Howdy and welcome.

This is a subject with a VERY broad range of opinion.

Coyote to Elk is also quite a broad range too. I appreciate that you apparently realize the range is too great for just one caliber, and that you chose to request recommendations.

I applaud your choice of a Mini-14, but in my opinion 223/5.56 that is prone to disintegrate is not a hunting caliber for game, although it is very suitable for varmints such as Coyote and Taliban.