Want to reload

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Big country, May 5, 2009.

1. Big country

Big country TGT Addict

Mar 6, 2009
    Cedar Park,TX
    I want to get started reloading for my 30-06 and maybe my 40. I'm thinking a single stage press and piece the rest together or should I look into a kit? Someone taught me some basics when I was younger (a lot younger), but it has been a while. Just looking for some advice, as far as a good cheap single stage kit that will hold up for a wile. The 30-06 is mainly what I want to reload for.

2. Texas42

Texas42 TGT Addict

Nov 21, 2008
    Temple
    I'm not an expert, but I got a Lyman turret press kit for something like $365. it really had everthing except calipers. I like the turret part with six slots. The primer feed works pretty well, but it isn't perfect. I like the powder thower quite a bit.

I haven't used the case trimmer or the case lube (use carbide dies).

I've just loaded pistol rounds. I really thought about going with Lee, but I read some bad reviews about the powder dispenser, and it didn't have a bunch of the stuff that came with the Lyman set. The electic scale that came with it wasn't the greatest, or at least, it didn't hold up to the heat in my attic. So I'm using my grandpa's Lee beam scale. I only load a hundred or so rounds every week or so, so I'm not in a real big hurry.

I imagine that you could probably find something pretty cheap, in the next six months or a year as alot of people who got in on the craze get tired of their stuff and sell it.

Good luck.

3. Big country

Big country TGT Addict

Mar 6, 2009
    Cedar Park,TX
    That is what I'm hoping. I want to pic up some thing used very cheap because money is a huge object right now. I just don't know what to look for as far as a good deal, All I know is name brands and I don't know one from the other as far as quality.