• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 6, 2012
    Corpus Christi
    I need some info from you guys that do your own reloading, I have never done it before so take it easy on me if I dont understand

I need to know what all equipment I will need. Im not looking to get top of the line reloaders, plain old inexpensive hand loading is what I want to do, just as a hobby. Mostly I will be reloading 9mm, .40, 7mm mag, .243, .223, .308

thanks in advance for the help.
    DK Firearms

Mikewood

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Houston
    I would start with a kit like the RCBS rock chucker universal single stage kit.
    Then buy a die set and a shell plate for each cartridge you want to load.
    Buy bullets, powder and primers. That's a good start. You will need a lot more stuff later.
    A good press will have a good reloading manual free but many folks swear by the Lyman manual.
    Pick a good die manufacture and stay with it as some parts interchange and you can sometimes rob a part from one die for another.

Buy a kinetic bullet puller and use it anytime you feel a cartridge might not be 100%.

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    hill co.
    I have a feeling you will soon be drowning in information, take a deep breath. +1 on the kit

jfrey

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 8, 2008
    Coastal Texas
    If you want to start with just the basics, Lee has two kits that would serve you well. Both kits have the basic equipment you need to get started loading good quality ammo. The next thing is to get some dies in the calibers you want to load, some bullets, primers and powder for the pistol calibers and a different one for the rifle loads.