• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • OutlawStar

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Sep 14, 2017
    Anna
    Saw a listing on craigslist for a "project bike" for $425 and kinda made an impulse purchase. I was looking for a little project to get me in the garage over the winter and this may be the ticket if the weather stays colder and I don't want to ride my other bike. Its a 1982 Honda CM250C. Seller said he's downsizing his house and wanted to get rid of a few hobby projects, time will tell if he knew something was truly broken and expensive, or telling the truth. Its my first project bike and its older than me so no real electronics to mess with, but its all ancient tech and parts. Seller said eBay (yuck) is flooded with bike specific parts. I already know even in immaculate condition these bikes only sell for $2500, okay driver condition are $1500-2000. I'm not looking for a flip on this, I wanted a project and maybe something to knock around town with its silly 14 horsepower. But if I can stay within a "profit zone" on this bike that wouldn't be so bad.

Not so great:
    Came with a rusty unpainted gas tank
    New seat but no way to bolt it down
    clutch cable detached but NOS Honda part included
    Rear tail light is a used LED unattached
    Something isn't right with the clutch. I can take the side cover off, but the clutch lever on the case will not move the clutch. I can't even push it in which makes me think something is jammed up.
    Tree lock appears to be keyed incorrectly; I took apart the tumbler this evening and 1 or 2 leafs sticks up with the key in. Lock guys will know.
    Just rolling it down a ramp, the front brake could slow the tire, but man these drums don't give me confidence yet.