Separate names with a comma.
Discussion in 'Texas Concealed Handgun (CHL)' started by wilded, Jan 22, 2009.
Just wondering about them. :texas:
What would you like to know about it?
I was told it was cheaper and legal for a Texas Resident to obtain. Also that it was a lot faster than going through the system here in Texas. Just wondered if anyone had gone that way.
I have a Utah CFP and a Texas CHL. The Utah plastic was easier, cheaper and quicker.
I'm at work now, so I can't remember the exact dates, but it was pretty quick. I wanna say it was right at 60 days from the time they charged my Credit card to the day it was in the mailbox.
It was $70 for the class in Roanoke, and $65.25 to the state of Utah. The license is good for 5 years, and the renewal is only $10, and lasts for 5 years again.
(copied from www.crossfire-training.com)
There are a few disadvantages to a non-resident permit.
First, you will not be legal to carry in states that do not recognize a non-resident permit. (Florida, Colorado, New Hampshire)
You will not be able to bypass the instant background check when you buy a firearm from a licensed dealer.
You do not have benefit of the exemption from the federal “gun-free school zone” law that a resident permit holder has.
You will of course also have to deal with a lot of "why" questions from LEOs because you live in TX and are carrying on a UT permit.
If you can live with that, then by all means go for it.