Building a LR308

Discussion in 'Rifles' started by jkattchee, Mar 3, 2017.

1. jkattchee

jkattchee New Member

Mar 3, 2017
    In the spirited words of Jonny Lieberman, Hi there!

I am new to the forum and the whole building an AR thing, I've done plenty of reading over the past couple of months so I think I know what I need to to get by, but time will tell.

I am going to post the parts I plan to use to build, any input/advice and thoughts would be nice since I am new to this (next post). The list is not set in stone, I am always looking around to see if there is a better option.

I will say there is no use in trying to move me away from an AR10/LR308, that is the one thing I am dead set on.

I will start building this summer (2017) once I get the time and money to do so.

And to answer your question, I am building the gun as a weekend warrior/range gun/hunting rifle and because I am bored and want something to build, seeing as I have finished rebuilding my 1971 Honda motorcycle (CB450). Also I just like how the AR looks.

2. BRD@66

BRD@66 TGT Addict

Jan 23, 2014
    Liberty Hill
    Welcome to TGT

3. Davetex

Davetex TGT Addict

Mar 27, 2010
    Pflugerville
    Welcome

4. BigBoss0311

BigBoss0311 Well-Known

Mar 8, 2010
    McKinney, TX
    For the price, Palmetto State Armory PA10. Buy upper on sale, buy lower on sale, put together and go shoot.

5. jkattchee

jkattchee New Member

Mar 3, 2017
    Alright, sorry for the delay but this is my current buildlist, I'm listing major parts, not the nuisances.
    -Upper+Lower: One of these three, leaning towards the ATX set.
    JTAC set
    ATXArmory set
    Mega set
    -Upper Parts:
    CMMG 18" barrel and Mk3 BCG
    Fortis Switch 15" rail (MLOK)
    Precision Armament M4-72 break
    -Lower Parts:
    MOE Rifle Stock (Im open to other options so long as they arent PRS priced)
    Timney Targa 2 stage trigger
    Magpul pistol grip

6. jkattchee

jkattchee New Member

Mar 3, 2017