• ...and so much more!
  • matefrio

ΔΕΞΑΙ
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2010
    Missouri, Texas Consulate HQ
    Disaster Preparedness and Recovery For the Armed Citizen

This is a work in progress. Your input is welcome.

I'm by no means an expert on this topic. My goal is simply to get folks thinking about a disaster situation while still keeping ones self armed, a topic I've not seen much written about.

I'm not going to speculate on an end of the world as we know it type disaster. I'll leave that to some science fiction authors and toeach his or her own. I'm going to address the more mundane yet realrisks and compromises one makes trying to say armed and prepared before during an after some realistic scenarios in a urban environment based on some recent history, laws and musings. After the disaster in these type situations there is a real chance of returning to normality and the world as we know it moving on due to the overall small scale of the disaster where most of the population was not affected.

Most of the time I don't have a answers here, just thought provoking questions. I'll never have an answer for your situation, your risk assessment and your priorities.

Disasters

Most recently here in TX we've had fires. Living in the Gulf Coast area Hurricanes and flooding are an issue. That includes the influx of refugees from displaced people. City folks have had mobs and looters from time to time. Tornadoes in Joplin Missouri come to mind. Power outages, interruptions of the supply chain of goods. The list goes on.

Abandoning Your Guns.

If you have a large collection chances are during a bug out or move to safer ground situation you'll be leaving behind some of your guns.

What kind of safe do you have at home? Fire and water? Will it keep your collection safe from possible looters during your absence? What kind of records do you have of your guns?

What to Take With You

Rifle? Shotgun? Handgun? How much ammo?