• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sobi1998

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 18, 2016
    I saw that cabelas has the high point .45 carbine for a cheap price and was wondering what y'all think of it as a rifle, hog gun, accurate?
    I hunt whitetail and hogs, occasionally squirrels
    What're yalls thoughts of it overall (quality, reliability, knock down power, accuracy)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DubiousDan

Trump 2024
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    May 22, 2010
    San Antonio
    I have one and have never had a problem with function, it has been flawless. Accuracy is so so, like 1.5 inches at 50 yards with a scope but I'm not that great a shot. I would imagine 50 yards would be about the optimum range for hog hunting with it, but I'm no expert.

Hopefully someone with hog hunting experience will chime in about using a 45 acp.

I should also add that the only ammunition I've ever used in it is 230gr FMJ Round Nose.

Last edited:

Dawico

Uncoiled
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Lampasas, Texas
    I will concede to those with more experience hunting hogs than I have but my first impression is no.

The .45 ACP seems a little underpowered for hogs, especially the larger ones. I think you could get into real trouble if you were on the ground and a large hog decided to rush you.

The gun I don't have any experience with at all.

Mikewood

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Houston