• robertc1024

Staff member
    TGT Supporter
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 22, 2013
    San Marcos
    I am a complete newb to scopes. The only optic I've ever put on a rifle was my AimPoint Pro on my AR. I inherited a Rem 700 .243 with a K-Mart (seriously) scope and that rifle needs an upgrade. I'd like to hit steel at 500 yards or so. After searching around a bit, I suspect a Mildot reticle would be best. At least 18x I think. I think I'd prefer a second focal plane one. Budget <$500. Nikon Buckmasters? Nikon Buckmasters Rifle Scope 6-18x 40mm Side Focus Mil-Dot Reticle
    Hurley's Gold

Mreed911

TGT Addict
    BANNED!!!
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Apr 18, 2013
    Austin, TX
    I'm very fond of Nikon's scopes. Check OpticsPlanet - you can often find deals. All of my glass except for two are Nikon. One is a Barska that was just too good to pass up, the other a Pine Ridge from Cabela's on a .22LR.

OIF2

Well-Known
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Dec 28, 2008
    Hill Country
    Probably an excellent scope for your needs is the Mueller APV 4-14x. It's has a front parallax focus with a duplex reticle. Warranty is excellent. If something is wrong, they'll send you a new one...no questions asked. I like expensive scopes, but this one is about the best value for the buck out there today. I wouldn't put it on a .300 Magnum, but a .243 is perfect. The guys over at RimfireCentral.com rave about it. I'd recommend staying away from the mil dot. It's complicated and not needed. The dots are calibrated for only one distance and one power. On the cheaper scopes, the mil dot calibration is usually off...sometimes way off.

Another excellent scope, with mil dots that work, is the fixed 10X from SWFA. Outstanding optics in a power used by the military. Perfect for long range work, and only $300.00. A VERY rugged scope with precise click adjustments and great glass. If you want a mil dot, this is the way to go.
    Bob