• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rios

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 26, 2013
    Humble, TX
    "Cool Story, Bro!"

But I don't care. I just wanted to share my silly experience in Austin last weekend.

I have never been to Austin. I am new to Texas. Moved to Houston area from Southern California last September. Heard about a In-N-Out Burger in Austin and lots of weird people. Wife and I were more interested in the In-N-Out burger, since we have seen plenty of weird in California. The drive between Austin and Houston was beautiful. Finally saw some change in elevation :laughing:

I think I felt my ears pop.

First observation about Austin area. The radio stations were better. Also saw extensive sidewalk system with no one on it. I don't see very many sidewalks in Houston, although I will admit I don't get around much.

Finally, saw the In-N-Out sign and made my exit off the freeway. As we exit off the freeway I see a panhandler and notice the neighborhood looks a bit on the rough side. Not Watts/Boyle Heights bad, but enough to get my attention. As I'm stopped at a red light, I see what appears to be a meth-head tweaker walking down the street. If you have ever been to Victorville or San Bernardino, you know what I am talking about. As the person gets closer to us via the sidewalk, I start to see more detail. It is in fact a female. She is wearing overalls with paint splashed all over. I think she was either wearing TOMS or Birkenstocks. Reggae Dreads on head. Its a full blown trustafarian. She walked into a artsy-fartsy tattoo shop next to the In-N-Out.

I just saw Venice Beach in Texas. WTF!

So we eat our delicious Double-Doubles with Animal Fries and decide to recon the "Downtown". Place looks like a mini-California.

Got back on the freeway and went home to Humble.

Next visit will be Nacogdoches & Dallas.

Thanks For Reading.

TXAZ

:)
    Lifetime Member
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 14, 2014