• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kikjunk

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 24, 2010
    san antoniio
    I'm new to reloading. I went down to the Bass Pro shop here in San Antonio and get all set up to start loading .308 and .243 for my bold actions. Here's my problem. The first time using my lyman single stage press and 308 resizing die the cases were getting stuck when trying to pull them back out from the die. I struggled with this for a while and figured that I didn't lubricate the cases enough. I added a little more lube to the pad and tried again and it got better. Later when I tried reloading my first batch of .243 I was having the same problem with the other dies too. I had to use all of my strength and hold down the table to extract the cases out of the die. I added more lube but this time it didn't help. I don't know what to do know and I'm getting somewhat discouraged. I didn't have anyone to teach me how to reload, but I read the lyman manual from front to back twice before getting started and thoroughly read the instructions that came with the dies and press. What am I doing wrong?:banghead:
    Capitol Armory ad

Texasjack

TGT Addict
    Rating - 50%
    1   1   0
    Jan 3, 2010
    Occupied Texas
    What are you using for lubricant? Some lubricants - like the spray-on types - have to dry before they work.

It's somewhat of an art - if you don't lubricate enough, the case can get stuck. If you over-lubricate, there is hydraulic pressure that can warp the cartridge and also get it stuck. Be sure you DON'T lube the neck of the case, just the body, or you'll definitely see indentations from the pressure.

You might want to check on-line for some reloading videos. There are some on youtube , and some of the manufacturers have them. (I've watched one or two on the Lee site.)

jasont

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 17, 2008
    Houston