New Texan in Japan

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Dust, Nov 24, 2008.

1. Dust

Dust Active Member

Just wanted to say hello, born and raised in Wichita Falls and Georgetown Texas, and joined up to catch up on what is going on in Texas. I am an English Teacher in Mito, Ibaraki, Japan, and will be coming back to Texas next month. Looking at going shooting if I can, and picking up some guns while I still can. Going to hit up the Austin Gun Show on the 13th, and the DFW one after Christmas. Looking for a .308 and a .223. Grandpa was a cop, and have been around guns as far back as I can remember.

Anyway, just wanted to say Konnichiwa.

2. mac79912

mac79912 Well-Known

Mar 4, 2008
    Welcome to the forum.

3. iratollah

iratollah Active Member

May 25, 2008
    If you want a .223 then you should buy an Airsoft while you're over there. You can get a full auto and not even have the orange barrel.

.223 pricing here has been volatile since the election.

Welcome to the board. What part of Japan are you in? I've done some motorcycle touring around Fuji, Shimoda and Nikko.

4. Dust

Dust Active Member

Near twin ring motegi. No thanks on the airsoft. One of my students paid $800 for a sniper rifle looking airsoft. I laughed because I could get the real thing for the same price.

About the .223, I am trying to decide between an AR, Ak variant, or a bolt. Already have some 22 and 7.62x39 semi-autos, just want something that can get out a bit farther, and those four calibers should kill most of what is alive in North America.

5. jim t

jim t Member

Mar 4, 2008
    Hawley Texas