Reason you haven't gotten your CHL?

If you would like to have a CHL, but haven't applied, why not?

• I have my CHL

Votes: 34 54.8%
  • Cost ($140 initial; $70 renewal)

Votes: 9 14.5%
  • Required class time (10hr. initial; 4 hr. renewal)

Votes: 6 9.7%
  • Too many areas where CHL's can't carry their guns

Votes: 2 3.2%
  • Don't know how to go about getting one

Votes: 1 1.6%
  • Other (explain)

Votes: 10 16.1%

• Total voters

hoytinak

Mar 5, 2008
Texas of course
Don't get me wrong, nothing against yall police officers...but I don't think yall should be able to carry nation wide like that if we (CHL holders) can't. I actually think every law abiding citizen should be able to carry concealed without one anyways.

But you're right, if I was a police officer I'd carry nation wide too.

TexasT/A

Feb 29, 2008
Amarillo
Don't get me wrong, nothing against yall police officers...but I don't think yall should be able to carry nation wide like that if we (CHL holders) can't. I actually think every law abiding citizen should be able to carry concealed without one anyways.

I agree 100%. I also think we should be able to open carry in TX too. I don't know if I actually would, but it would be nice to have the option.

Pappy

Resident Septuagenarian
Feb 29, 2008
Texas
I have mine.

One of the first in the state to do so.

And so, now will be my 3rd renewal.

It seems all I need to do is have the finger prints, photo.

The local range/CHL place says $50 for processing the paper work.

No class and no proficiency test. :cool:

JKTex

Well-Known
Mar 11, 2008
DFW, North Texas

I don't think being a Police Officer has anything to do with it. I'm not saying I know the laws etc. but I don't think every state in the union would give a crap about an officer from another state when it comes to carrying. Required in your own jurisdiction or state maybe.