Timing Belts and all that jazz

TheCytochromeC

Sep 12, 2013
DFW
I'm doing my timing belt on my MKV GTI at the moment. I'm replacing all the hardware affiliated with the timing system including the water pump. My motor is an interference motor which means if the timing is slightly off, the valves will contact the pistons. I've never done this before so it's a big learning experience for me. Anyone here do theirs? Ever work on interference timing belts? Thank god you only have to do this around every 100,000 miles.

rsayloriii

TGT Addict
May 11, 2009
H-Town, TX
Not on that engine, but done plenty of them. No big deal overall. Take your time and make sure the marks line up and the belt is correct direction... belt direction may not matter on your engine, but on my v8 it does otherwise the marks won't line up.

sent from deep space

Check your marks, check them again, and then recheck them. At this stage I usually rotate the crankshaft back and forth several degrees then re-align the marks. Check your marks again. Rotate the crankshaft 1 full cycle by hand and recheck your marks. Remember 1 cycle equals 720*. Then recheck your hardware to insure they are tight. I know it seems like a lot of checking the marks, but if it saves your engine then it is well worth it.

Shotgun Jeremy

Spelling Bee Champeon
Lifetime Member
Jul 8, 2012
Central Texas
If you've got it that torn apart and working on something that can be catastrophic if done wrong, there's no hurt in taking your time and checking everything.

Das Jared

TGT Addict
Jul 20, 2012
Friendswood
If you haven't torn into it yet, there is a guy in austin that specializes in VW timing belt jobs. That's all he does. Imo, if you've never done it before, that is something wayyyy to critical to just try for the first time.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 2

M. Sage

TGT Addict
Jan 21, 2009
San Antonio
That's an easy one, depending a bit on which tensioner it uses. I've probably done hundreds of 'em.